狗狗吃的粒粒是什麼?

狗狗吃的粒粒是什麼?

林泊汝是Third Culture的自由撰稿人。 她是“Furry Kitchen 鮮作犬食”的創始人之一,業務致力於推廣“狗鮮食”,這是一種用新鮮食材以低溫烹調,無添加的狗鮮食。 你可以在Facebook與她聯繫。
我是和狗一起長大的,我的父親是一名廚師擁有自己餐廳,我們從來不會餵狗糧。80年代的時候, 父親在從供應商購買最新鮮食材為我們的狗製作狗鮮食”。 我們第一隻養的小型狗是一隻西施,當時我們聽從獸醫的指示,餵她吃狗糧和購買五顏六色的狗零食給她吃。她一生中曾3次膀胱結石手術,她有腎臟問題、消化問題和皮膚過敏,在10歲時過身。之後我們決定再也不給我們的狗餵食任何商業加工食品。
我閱讀各種書籍和研究,在工作以外的時間幫助我的朋友和鄰居兼職準備新鮮冷凍的狗食。我經常聽到不認識我的人說:

「哦,那是林泊汝,她的狗比我吃得更好…」
後來我因為好奇而研究報讀犬隻的營養,為的是給予狗狗更全面的營養和健康。一直到我的獸醫和營養師的朋友組成團隊,我的事業才慢慢開展。我們都曾經經歷狗狗生病死亡的痛,因此我們決心希望能在城市中提供最好的選擇。
第一次學習看乾糧標籤時,我很震驚,團隊看著我然後點了點頭說「是的⋯⋯」 我永遠不會忘記那一幕。
由2006年開始,到2014年設網店,到現在久不久有pop-up stores,全職去專注傳播慢煮的狗鮮食的益處。犬隻的飲食應該和主人一樣重要。 狗主的積極反饋令我非常感動。我很高興有大家認同,更開心的是有這麼多人認識狗鮮食。

我認為隨時觸寵物營養的資訊是非常重要的。在香港和其他城市,獸醫知道貓狗身上所看到的健康問題:肥胖、腎臟問題和消化問題都是常見的問題。但獸醫永遠不會告訴你的一件事,就是: 不要買乾糧。 為什麼? 因為他們只有這些選擇…
在大部分都認為無可能做到營養均衡的狗鮮食,除非是大型食品公司!這因為營養素的測量必須精確。我們需要獸醫、營養師和化驗所合作去實現這一點。
狗是人類最好的朋友,為何牠們不值得最好的選擇?
其實,用新鮮食材,以營養師配方再加上獸醫意見配方出的狗鮮食,絕對不需要PHD團隊才能造出營養均衡的狗鮮食。但是!如果你是用含有化學、品穩定劑、粗纖維、肉粉等質量差的副產品去製作乾糧的話,那就必需要一群科學家了!
市場上所看到的寵物食品標籤秘密:

 

•目前還沒有保障動物食物健康的法律,導致了世界各地發生的乾糧醜聞。

•“5D”肉類,是指: 死亡、生病、垂死、殘廢和有生前有服藥的動物,而且他們的屍體經常帶有腫瘤或了感染的器官。

•基本上,任何不適合賣給人類食用的肉類都會用在寵物食品中。

•任何好的成分都會被加工為不可識別的”產品”,營養幾乎消失殆盡,因此狗糧必須添加入大量補充劑。 這些乾糧變成小藥粒而不是食物了。

在像香港這樣的大城市,縱使養寵物可以花費好大,我們仍願意花巨額在狗狗的醫療費用上。 所謂預防勝於治療,既有觀點必須改變,選擇改變狗隻的飲食去達到最健康狀態。

許多主人都會嘗試為狗狗製作鮮食,我強烈建議狗主在動手之前先了解犬隻營養和病理。與人類相比,犬隻在營養方面與我們的需求完全不同。 自製營養不均衡的鮮食會令情況更壞。

所有狗狗都值得享受鮮食。 認真看看乾糧和鮮食不就知道了?

最重要是學習看寵物食品標籤,並了解糧食的成份。<<Dr. Pitcairn’s Complete Guide to Natural Health For Dogs and Cats>> 這本書能讓你全面了解狗和貓的飲食。也要確保你所參考書籍或網上網文章來已認證的渠道。

狗狗不能決定吃什麼,為他們選擇最好的飲食是主人的責任。商業加工的寵物食品可能包裝吸引,看來美味,還不會過期!

 

狗狗一生中最重要的是: 有一位愛牠的主人和新鮮均衡的飲食。

 

翻譯來源

WHAT’S IN YOUR DOG’S FOOD?

 

 






WHAT’S IN YOUR DOG’S FOOD?

Annabel Lam is a freelance writer for Third Culture. She is the co-founder of Furry Kitchen, a business dedicated to promoting “fresh dog food”, a whole food diet for dogs that is prepared with fresh ingredients, low temperature cooking technique that is free of chemicals and additives. You can contact her via her Facebook page.

I grew up with dogs, my father was a chef and we never fed our dogs kibble. My dad fed our dogs the best fresh meats, veg and rice we got from our suppliers then back in the 80s. We once had our first small dog, a Shih Tau puppy and decided to listen to our vet; we fed her kibble and the vet-recommended colourful snacks ONLY. She had 3 bladder stones operations, renal problem, digestive problems and skin allergies all her life and died at the age of 10. We then decided to never feed our dogs any commercial processed food again.

I started to help my friends and neighbours to prepare fresh frozen dog food part-time based on the various books and research I read, while I worked full time in an office. People then who didn’t work with me came to know me as:

“Oh, that’s Annabel. Her dog eats better than me…”

Later I studied canine nutrition out of curiosity and because I wanted to be very educated on this matter for my dogs. My business didn’t happen until I formed my own team with my vet and canine nutritionists’ friends who could help me. We all had our sad stories with our pet and determined to be the change we want to see in the city.

When I first learn to look at pet food labels I was shocked, and my team looked at me just nodded, and said “YUP”. I’ll never forget that moment.

Recently, quit my job and began my full-time focus on spreading the message of the benefits of whole food diet combined with slow cook method for dogs. I think a dog’s diet should matter just as much, as the owner’s does. I have received so much positive feedback from owners that I’ve laughed and cried myself to sleep at the same time the first time in my life. It’s nice to know that people support your dream and encouraging to know that there are so many people recognised the power of whole food diet for dogs.

I think it’s very important that we can easily access to all the information regarding pet nutrition. Vets here can tell you the health problems they see in the dogs and cats in Hong Kong and in other cities: obesity, renal issues and digestive problems are the big ones. One thing a vet will never tell you- is not to buy kibble. Why? Because what else is readily available to you…

Most of the time we have convinced ourselves, even in vet schools that balancing a diet is rocket science and that there is no way anyone can make it happen but the big kibble companies. It is true that the measurement of nutrients have to be precise, we definitely need to be working with the vet and canine nutritionist for that.

If dog is man’s best friend… Doesn’t he deserve the best we can give him?

The reality is if you are working with whole fresh food, with canine nutritionists and vets, you do not need an extra team of doctors with PHD to balance a diet of your pet. Unless you are working with bad quality “meat by-products” with chemical stabilizers, “crude fiber” of all kinds, “meat meal”, then a team of scientists is needed.

What They Don’t Tell You About Labels On Mass Market Pet Food:

  • There are currently no laws protecting the well being of animals when it comes to what goes in their food. This lack of protection led to many food scandals around the world.
  • The use of “5D” meats means Dead, Diseased, Dying, Disable & Drugged animal’s meat? And often their carcasses have cancerous tumors or infested organs in it.
  • Basically, ANY parts that unfit to be sold to human meat chains is used in pet food.
  • Any GOOD ingredient is processed to an unrecognizable extend and has little natural nutrient values left. Artificial supplements must be added. Those little kibble bites become tiny pills rather than food.

Keeping a dog, in a big city like Hong Kong, can be expensive, yet we are willing to spend on vet bills to keep our dogs with us. I think we should change our perspective to believe in prevention by making an option that could change your dog’s health condition through food choices.

Many owners try to cook for their dog and I strongly suggest owners to learn about canine nutrition and pathology before hand. Dogs have a whole different set of needs when comes to nutrition than people do. An imbalance in a homemade diet is the worse thing you can give to your dogs.

Every dog deserves a healthy diet. Doesn’t this look better than kibble?

I wish for owners would learn how to read pet food labels to start with and understand what they are actually feeding their fur babies. Dr. Pitcairn’s Complete Guide to Natural Health For Dogs and Cats is a great book to start with and one I highly recommend. Make sure any books or internet articles you use as a guide for making food for your dog are verified sources.

Dogs can not decide what is best for them. It is our job as owners to choose what to put in their body. Commercially processed pet food might smell delicious and don’t easily expire for a reason. The most important things in a dog’s life is a loving owner and a good diet.